Saturday, August 27, 2011

Gabrielle's review for Marked

AuthorsP.C. Cast & Kristin Cast
Release Date: May 1, 2007
Format: Paperback
Pages: 320
Source: Bought
Series: House of Night Book One
The Other Books: Betrayed, Chosen, Untamed, Hunted, Tempted, Burned, Awakened, Destined, The Fledgling Handbook 101, Nyx in the House of Night, Dragon's Oath
Buy at: Amazon

The House of Night series is set in a world very much like our own, except in 16-year-old Zoey Redbird's world, vampyres have always existed.  In this first book in the series, Zoey enters the House of Night, a school where, after having undergone the Change, she will train to become an adult vampire--that is, if she makes it through the Change.  Not all of those who are chosen do.  It's tough to begin a new life, away from her parents and friends, and on top of that, Zoey finds she is no average fledgling.  She has been Marked as special by the vampyre Goddess, Nyx.  But she is not the only fledgling at the House of Night with special powers.  When she discovers that the leader of the Dark Daughters, the school's most elite club, is misusing her Goddess-given gifts, Zoey must look deep within herself for the courage to embrace her destiny--with a little help from her new vampyre friends.


Rating – 3/5 stars

Judge the Cover – I like the cover. It is very simple, has some geometric shapes that add a glossy touch to it.
Selecting – I heard of the House of Night series from many people and telling it’s a really good series.

Review – I was a little worried about this series because I did hear a lot of positive feedback but at first, I only heard mixed feelings about the series. But in my opinion, I think the series represent teenagers perfectly well. I mean, there were some things that I wouldn’t have done, but all in all, I can see why this is a popular series.

Marked is the beginning of the series. Zoey Montgomery is our main character, and the story is told from her point of view. While Zoey is at her human school, a Tracker was sent to her. The Tracker is sent to young teens that are going through the Change, from human to vampyre. Zoey is now Marked with the symbol of a vampyre, a crescent moon on her forehead. Her classmates freak out when they see it, and some think she turned into a blood-sucking freak. That’s another thing about the series, vampyres are not a secret, and people know about their existence.

Zoey then goes home and tells her mother. Her mother is now married to John Heffer, who is an Elder of the People of Faith religious group. John thinks that that he and the other Elders can somehow change Zoey’s fate, but Zoey knows that there’s nothing to change this. After a fight with them, Zoey sneaks out of her room and visits her understanding Grandma.

She has an accident, and wakes up in the House of Night school, with a filled-in crescent moon. This is unique because only full-grown vampyres have filled-in moons. Zoey is still fledgling but because of this symbol, people think she is powerful and are interested in her. Especially the Dark Daughters, an elite group, who want Zoey to join them. But Zoey already has a group of friends that are more friendly and welcoming to her.

In the first book, it’s mostly about Zoey switching lives, schools, and species, and adapting to her new life-style. I like it but, I still want to read the rest of the series to see where it’s going and why a lot of people are crazy about the series.

Best Character – Zoey’s group of friends are quite funny, and friendly. I love how the series is diverse. The friends had their own personalities and wasn’t difficult to tell who was talking.

Worst Character – Aphrodite, but I know she is going to be important to the series. So, right now, I dislike her, but later on, who knows.

Favorite Part – Zoey feels the elements when Nefret calls upon them during the Full Moon ritual. You can actually feel like you’re there when Zoey’s feeling them.

Author’s NEWS – Destined, the eighth book of the series, comes out Oct. 25, 2011.

No comments:

Post a Comment