Friday, September 16, 2011

Ivy's Review on Cold Kiss

Cold Kiss
Author: Amy Garvey
Publisher: Harper Teen
Release Date: September 20, 2011
Format: E-book
Pages: 179
Source: NetGalley
Rating: Escapable
Series: Cold Kiss #1
The Other Books: Glass Heart
Extras: Pitch Dark Tour, Trailer
Seek: Amazon, Goodreads
When her boyfriend, Danny, is killed in a car accident, Wren can’t imagine living without him. Wild with grief, she uses the untamed powers she’s inherited to bring him back. But the Danny who returns is just a shell of the boy she once loved.
 
Wren has spent four months keeping Danny hidden, while her life slowly unravels around her. Then Gabriel DeMarnes transfers to her school and somehow, inexplicably, he can sense her secret. Wren finds herself drawn to Gabriel, who is so much more alive than the ghost of the boy she loved. But Wren can’t turn her back on Danny or the choice she made for him—and she realizes she must find a way to make things right, even if it means breaking her own heart.
 
Amy Garvey’s transcendent teen debut is perfect for fans of Shiver and Beautiful Creatures. Wren’s unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.
Cover is stunningly beautiful. I would not change a thing.
This book was provided by Netgalley, and HarperCollins.

Cold Kiss is chilling tale and man was it so hard to put the book down because I didn’t want to step away from the story. It’s beautiful, and I didn’t want it to end.

Wren has fallen deep in love with a boy just like any other teenage girl. When he dies, it’s out of nowhere, and Wren doesn’t want the love to end. So, what does she do? She brings back her love from dead. Literally. From the beginning, you know that bringing back your boyfriend from the dead isn’t a smart idea. But than your curious… how will Wren be able to handle this? Will she be able to ever let him go?

The new kid Gabriel sometimes helps and doesn’t help, with her situation. At times, he just gets on her nerves. At first, he just knows what she is. But when he finds out about the dead boyfriend, does he run? No, he might have freaked out but he was there for her. That’s sounds like a great boyfriend type to me. A boy who can handle that kind of weirdness, won’t be freaked out about my obsession to some questionably things.

But the whole story is about Wren coping with the fact that she needs to let go. She needs to move on. But how she does it, makes the story even more breath-taking.

There other things to love about this book, like did I mention Wren’s a witch. But not the typical witch, she had to learn everything about being witch on her own. Her mother is also a witch but she doesn’t like talking about her paranormal gifts. Wren has to deal with a lot but she must be pretty strong witch. If she can bring back dead boyfriends, don’t you wonder what else this girl can do?

There really isn’t a whole lot I can say for this book, that will justify how much I love it. The ending was hard for me because I wasn’t ready to let go. What also sucked, I had my Ipod on while reading and “My Heart Will Go On” by Celine Dion came on and my eyes began to water. Anyone enjoys paranormal, THIS is a must-read.


I really hope whoever wins this on our October giveaway, loves this books as much as I did. 

Gabriel is my favorite character. He may not seem important to some, but he was very important to the story. If he wasn’t there for Wren, Wren would have probably broken down even harder. He understood her problems and he was simply just there for her. That has to take a lot of courage especially since her dead boyfriend is still hanging around.
I just asked Amy if there was going to be sequel, and she said she turned in the manuscript. Thank heavens, because the way story ended, I knew it couldn't be the end of Wren and Gabriel.

No comments:

Post a Comment