Tuesday, September 13, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (06)



"Waiting on" Wednesday is a weekly event, host by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.

We just saw this cool youtube video for HarperTeen's Dark Days: Pitch Dark. Some really exciting books and we have even a few, but we have to wait awhile before we get to read them. Here's the youtube video.



Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: July 26, 2011
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 336
Series: Paranormalcy series Book Two

Evie finally has the normal life she’s always longed for. But she’s shocked to discover that being ordinary can be . . . kind of boring. Just when Evie starts to long for her days at the International Paranormal Containment Agency, she’s given a chance to work for them again. Desperate for a break from all the normalcy, she agrees.
 
But as one disastrous mission leads to another, Evie starts to wonder if she made the right choice. And when Evie’s faerie ex-boyfriend Reth appears with devastating revelations about her past, she discovers that there’s a battle brewing between the faerie courts that could throw the whole supernatural world into chaos. The prize in question? Evie herself.
 
So much for normal.

Author: Amy Garvey
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date:  September 20, 2011
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 336

When her boyfriend, Danny, is killed in a car accident, Wren can’t imagine living without him. Wild with grief, she uses the untamed powers she’s inherited to bring him back. But the Danny who returns is just a shell of the boy she once loved.


Wren has spent four months keeping Danny hidden, while her life slowly unravels around her. Then Gabriel DeMarnes transfers to her school and somehow, inexplicably, he can sense her secret. Wren finds herself drawn to Gabriel, who is so much more alive than the ghost of the boy she loved. But Wren can’t turn her back on Danny or the choice she made for him—and she realizes she must find a way to make things right, even if it means breaking her own heart.


Amy Garvey’s transcendent teen debut is perfect for fans of Shiver and Beautiful Creatures. Wren’s unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

Author: Anna Carey
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: October 4, 2011
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 336
Series: The Eve Trilogy Book One

Sixteen years after a deadly virus wiped out most of Earth’s population, the world is a perilous place. Eighteen-year-old Eve has never been beyond the heavily guarded perimeter of her school, where she and two hundred other orphaned girls have been promised a future as the teachers and artists of the New America. But the night before graduation, Eve learns the shocking truth about her school’s real purpose—and the horrifying fate that awaits her.

Fleeing the only home she’s ever known, Eve sets off on a long, treacherous journey, searching for a place she can survive. Along the way she encounters Arden, her former rival from school, and Caleb, a rough, rebellious boy living in the wild. Separated from men her whole life, Eve has been taught to fear them, but Caleb slowly wins her trust . . . and her heart. He promises to protect her, but when soldiers begin hunting them, Eve must choose between true love and her life.

In this epic new series, Anna Carey imagines a future that is both beautiful and terrifying. Readers will revel in Eve’s timeless story of forbidden love and extraordinary adventure.

Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: September 27, 2011
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 320
Series: Trilogy Book One

On the night of Skye’s seventeenth birthday, she meets two enigmatic strangers. Complete opposites—like fire and ice—Asher is dark and wild, while Devin is fair and aloof. Their sudden appearance sends Skye’s life into a tailspin. She has no idea what they want, or why they seem to follow her every move—only that their presence coincides with a flurry of strange events. Soon she begins to doubt not just the identity of the two boys, but also the truth about her own past.

In the dead of a bitingly cold Colorado winter, Skye finds herself coming to terms with the impossible secret that threatens to shatter her world. Torn between Asher, who she can’t help falling for, and Devin, who she can’t stay away from, the consequences of Skye’s choice will reach further than the three of them could ever imagine.

A Beautiful Dark is the first book in a captivating trilogy by debut author Jocelyn Davies.

Author: Claudia Gray
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: September 13, 2011
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 336


In Fateful, eighteen-year-old maid Tess Davies is determined to escape the wealthy, overbearing family she works for. Once the ship they’re sailing on reaches the United States, she’ll strike out on her own. Then she meets Alec, a handsome first-class passenger who captivates her instantly. But Alec has secrets....
 
Soon Tess will learn just how dark Alec’s past truly is. The danger they face is no ordinary enemy: werewolves are real and they’re stalking him—and now Tess, too. Her growing love for Alec will put Tess in mortal peril, and fate will do the same before their journey on the Titanic is over.
 
Featuring the opulent backdrop of the Titanic, Fateful’s publication is poised to coincide with the 100-year anniversary of the ship’s doomed maiden voyage. It is sure to be a hit among Titanic buffs and fans of paranormal romance alike.

WE'RE SO EXCITED!! What's on your WoW this week?

21 comments:

  1. Some very interesting choices there. :D I'm pretty excited about A Beautiful Dark, too. :) I've got to be careful. Taking part in Waiting on Wednesday might make me wind up with way too big a wishlist. :D

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love WoW. So many books I wouldn't otherwise know about are brought to my attention. Great choices!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I have a couple of these for review, but wouldn't want to miss any of them. Great WOW!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Ooo, these all look awesome, and have sort of the same cover theme, no? Great picks, nonetheless!

    Stop by mine

    ReplyDelete
  5. Nice picks! These sound great. Thanks for stopping by my WoW!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Great choices! I've actually won Eve, Supernaturally, and Cold Kiss from contests, but have yet to receive them. I'm dying to get my hands on Beautiful Dark and Fateful too!

    Thanks for stopping by,

    Livin' Life Through Books

    ReplyDelete
  7. They are all great choices. I'm especially looking forward to Fateful. New follower :-)

    My WOW

    ReplyDelete
  8. Thanks for stopping by. Great picks, I already read Supernaturally and I loved it. I just began reading Fateful last night and I am really enjoying it so far. I am especially looking forward to Cold Kiss, Eve, and A Beautiful Dark as well, they all sound so good!

    Also a new follower

    ReplyDelete
  9. Great choices they all look really good!

    Please check out my WOW at
    http://curseofthebibliophile.blogspot.com/

    ReplyDelete
  10. I love how you included all the Dark Days books! I looooved Supernaturally. Fateful was OK. I'm really looking forward to reading Eve and Cold Kiss though!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Excellent batch! I've read Eve and A Beautiful Dark already, but I have Supernaturally, Fateful, and Cold Kiss waiting for me -- hopefully I can get to them soon.

    Thanks for stopping by! :)

    ReplyDelete
  12. Great set of books. If you're on Netgalley, I know Eve and A Beautiful Dark were both available a few weeks ago. They might still be there.

    Leslie
    WOW @ WorkingfortheMandroid.com

    ReplyDelete
  13. I've read Fateful and Supernaturally, and enjoyed both! Can't wait to start on the rest. :)

    ReplyDelete
  14. Great WOW post. I want to read all of these. I think they will find their way on my bookcase soon. Thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
  15. I haven't read anything by Claudia Gray yet... I get the distinct feeling I am missing out on something good...

    Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  16. Okay, so everyone one of these are books that I'm wanting. Awesome picks. :)

    ReplyDelete
  17. Oh my goodness, ALL OF THEM! I'm dying for A Beautiful Dark and Fateful especially. Super great picks this week! :)

    ReplyDelete
  18. All of these are AMAZING picks!
    I can't wait for A Beautiful Dark!


    Thanks for visiting

    Krazyyme @ Young Readers

    ReplyDelete
  19. All of them look amazing!! I love the look of Fateful, and it's take on aclassic. Great picks!
    Enjoy life x

    ReplyDelete
  20. Great choices! I'm really excited for Fateful. It sounds so cool!

    ReplyDelete